Skip to main content

SuDS Champion Award winner announced

Hosted at the Arup offices in Sheffield, it was our pleasure to name the well-deserved winner of the susdrain SuDS Champion Awards 2019.

The awards highlight individuals who have demonstrably gone ‘the extra mile’ to deliver and encourage the uptake of SuDS. It recognises that more often than not, SuDS are implemented due to the ability of a single champion.

susdrain received 15 nominations and our judges shortlisted these to six candidates. The candidates were:

Bronwyn Buntine, Kent County Council
Chris Digman, Stantec
George Warren, Greater London Authority
Ian Titherington, Cardiff City Council
Michelle Johnson & Rhodri Powell, Caerphilly County Borough Council
Sue Illman, Landscape Institute

All of the shortlisted candidates have gone the extra mile to encourage and promote SuDS delivery. 
The SuDS Champion Awards attracted over 900 votes, with Ian Titherington from Cardiff City Council receiving the most votes and being awarded 2019 susdrain SuDS Champion. Ian has brought together stakeholders and partners to deliver quality SuDS schemes, namely Green Grangetown. With his infectious, no-nonsense enthusiasm for SuDS the SuDS he delivers not only wins hearts and minds with local residents but he and the Council has gained national and international recognition.

Ian Titherington, 2019 SuDS Award Champion
Ian Titherington, 2019 SuDS Award Champion said "It's a great honour to be chosen for an award by valued colleagues from across the country. CIRIA are as ever at the very forefront of sustainable surface water management. I very much look forward to working with them in the future, particularly as Wales enacts & adapts our new SuDS legislation."

Click here to view details of all the shortlisted champions.

The overview of the awards and the shortlist are available at